shape
carat
color
clarity

What's the meaning of your PS user name?

mochiko42

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Indulge me, I'm bored on my lunch break! :)

Many PSers have very interesting and intriguing user names. I'd love to hear some stories of what their user name stands for and how they chose it. (I know this has been done before here but not in a while, if my Google search is accurate) :))

I'll get the ball rolling with mine:

mochiko42 - "mochiko" is Japanese, as I studied Japanese in college and am a huge fan of Japan and try to travel there at least once a year. mochi is a popular type of rice cake that I like, while "ko" means girl/female (with different kanji characters, "mochiko" can also mean rice flour). 42 is a special number to me for personal reasons (it was my home address number) and for literary reasons (Douglas Adams, anyone? :cheeky:)

OK, now your turn!! :appl: :appl:

dk168

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
My initials + a number that means "all the way to prosperity" in Cantonese.

DK :))

RandG

Brilliant_Rock
Great idea for a thread!

Rena7

Shiny_Rock
Mine is a nickname for my daughter and the age she was when I started using the name.

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Mine refers to my MINI Cooper, which is painted in a dark red/maroon color that manufacturer dubbed "velvet red." I carried it over from a car forum I participated in when I first got my MINI.

Jambalaya

Ideal_Rock
Premium
It's after the Gipsy Kings' great song Bamboleo. I thought they were saying "Jambalaya". Bit deaf. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mifnMC_Kn1Q

The song goes "bamboleo, bambolayA" so that's where I got confused. The second one sounds more like Jambalaya.

But then, for years I thought that the song "Cry Me A River" was called "Crimea River." I so have aural dyslexia! I never really listened to the song, I'd just heard it referenced, so I just assumed it was about a river in the Crimea.

jaysonsmom

Ideal_Rock