shape
carat
color
clarity

What happen to all the professional jewelers on PriceScope?

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: What happen to all the professional jewelers on PriceSco

I like a balance between spread and sparkle. I do not want spread at the expense of sparkle and vice versa.

RADIANTMAN

Shiny_Rock
Trade

Speaking for myself, I have found the intolerance for alternative viewpoints that has been directed toward me and others to be extremely disconcerting. As a professional, I am interested in sharing my views and participating in a respectful discussion, not in simply becoming another voice in an echo chamber. I intend, when I have the time, to continue to post here if I think my input will be helpful, but I have to admit to more than a little frustration at times at the open hostility expressed by some posters toward anyone who doesn't agree with what seems to have become the quasi-official pricescope party line.

With regard to spread vs. brilliance: A 6.3 mm 1 ct round diamond will clearly look smaller than a 6.5 mm 1 ct round. If it is not more brilliant then it is clearly inferior since the consumer gets nothing for the trade-off in spread. If it is more brilliant, then the consumer needs to balance the loss of brilliance (which may be obvious but also may be subtle and visible only in certain kinds of light), against the gain in spread and decide where their preference lies. There is no "right" or "wrong" answer. There is only "your" answer.