shape
carat
color
clarity

Is Sarcasm the same as a Healthy Sense of Humour?

pyramid

Ideal_Rock
Premium
So I am not really experienced in this and it tends to get me riled up. So, Is Sarcasm the same as a Healthy Sense of Humour?
(Educational posts needed here).

Maybe Dancing Fire can be the Umpire as I need to learn from basics, not being sarcastic, I do think I need to both in my own life and in reading the boards.

DF would you do the honours or Kenny or somebody. (I know there is a moderator).

quietlysw

Rough_Rock
I see sarcasm as the new wave of "hipster anti-humour" that I seem to come in contact with on a daily basis.

My 25 year old stoner-punk friend and his entire group of 90s grungers went to Miley Cyrus' concert recently and found it hilarious that they were standing amongst her typical audience in their bleached hair and NOFX shirts. They went as a sarcastic joke, bought her merch and now walk around town in Bangerz tees. Sarcasm ftw.

It's not for everyone, but it's a new sense of humour that is reacting to our postmodern environment. Everything has already been found funny, so what's next? The unfunny.

Circe

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I suppose it depends on how you define sarcasm. The traditional definition bases it in acrimony, bitterness, irony ... by that standard, no. But these days I find it's applied a lot more broadly to incongruous humor, or the unexpected. I suppose I'd say sarcasm can be part of a healthy sense of humor, but would probably represent a problem if it was the thing whole and entire. But I'd say the same about somebody who was all slapstick, all the time, so .... :doh:

canuk-gal

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
quietlysw|1415932441|3783096 said:
I see sarcasm as the new wave of "hipster anti-humour" that I seem to come in contact with on a daily basis.