shape
carat
color
clarity

Princess ASET Included - HELP

LADiamondHunting

Rough_Rock
Hey all - I found a local jeweler with a princess that I really like the look of that they have in stock - here is the ASET. Thoughts? To me there appears to be too much light leakage in the diamond, but I am an amateur. Would love the expert opinions! Thanks in advance!

ags0_diamond_aset.png

Texas Leaguer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
There's some leakage there but overall the ASET looks pretty good. The label indicates it is an AGS0. Does it have a light performance report as Ideal? If so, you are in good shape on the cut quality side of things and you can focus on the other C's to make your decision.

You might find this article of interest. It goes into the methodology light performance grading of princess cuts.
https://www.pricescope.com/journal/ags-laboratories-diamond-cut-grading-princess-cut

Hope that helps.

LADiamondHunting

Rough_Rock
Thanks Texas Leaguer! It is an AGS0 in cut and 0 light performance. 1 in both polish and symmetry. Otherwise, it falls in line with all my other specs and budget. My only concern was that there was too much light leakage (and it is a little bit depth heavy, about 77%) which is killing the size (7.8 x 7.65) for a princess a bit over 3 carats.

LADiamondHunting

Rough_Rock
Hi there - here is another diamond I am considering in comparison - below are the ASET, Idealscope and picture. This diamond is .25mm larger in both width and length (8 by 8) and is about $5K more expensive than the other posted above. Any thoughts on which looks better? To me the ASET on this looks good, Idealscope shows some leakage and the image just appears to show some serious dark spots - can't tell if this looks like a dud or an actual great find. It is GIA EX/EX, faint fluor. - no AGS cert here. I would like to decide by end of week so ANY thoughts are MOST greatly appreciated! Really don't want to make the wrong choice here...

_22444.jpg

_22445.jpg

_22446.jpg

Gypsy