shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice in Red Spinel

Bailey_Lou

Shiny_Rock
Hello gem experts! I am looking a for a round, red spinel under $900 for an existing setting. Of course, this drastically reduces my options. This is for my mother, whom I have gifted my old setting to for an upcoming anniversary. The ring fits her perfectly and is the Whiteflash bead set. My mother only likes red and blue stones. Plus she works in a school with children. It looks like in the 8 mm size we can't get a sapphire. So we went with spinels and I would like your advice on this well cut spinel. I have read all of the information in the guide sticky. I am a total noob and have only experience with ideal cut diamonds. This spinel that I'm asking about looks dark (extinction?) I don't see a window, however, but it is a nice size at about 9 mm and in some of the pics looks to be a delicious raspberry color. What do you think? Please help!

Bailey_Lou

Shiny_Rock
Pic 1

_21874.jpg

Bailey_Lou

Shiny_Rock
By the way, this stone is for around $900 and is 9 mm

_21875.jpg

Bailey_Lou

Shiny_Rock
Last pic

_21876.jpg

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
This spinel will look black all the time, unless someone is shining a penlight on it. Look at the background on the first picture - see how it is over exposed? The photographer is pouring a lot of light to just bring out some raspberry in the stone. At $900 or around $250-300/carat, it seems very overpriced.

Marlow

Brilliant_Rock
Do you have some information ( weight, orign).

Can't help but it looks like a rhodolite. This is not negative!!!! I have spinel and rhodolite from Sri Lanka with exactly the same color!!!

Do you have a strong magnet? Forget it - you want to buy it....it is not at your home.

With a magnet you could easily seperate them.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Marlow|1409601773|3742968 said:
Can't help but it looks like a rhodolite.

I thought the exact same thing when I saw it before reading your comments.