shape
carat
color
clarity

Finial thoughts before I pull the trigger on Bluenile

dmsvan

Rough_Rock
I am looking for a high quality 1 Ct + Diamond, Round, Ideal cut on Classic Four Claw Platinum Engagement Ring. ( Looking on Bluenile this will cost me around 8,000 USD with F VS1.

My girlfriend indicated that she wanted a 1 CT "Tiffany Cut" (no bigger) - so I have been trying to maximize quality without going over 10K. (i'll have to pay tax as well)

Looking on other sites there doesn’t seem to be anyone else who can provide me with this price. Am I missing something? What other factors should I be looking at? Lurking on this site has helped a lot; however, there is quite a lot of info....

Here was the link I was looking at http://www.bluenile.com/ca/build-your-own-ring/diamond-details/LD04554012

alpackie

Shiny_Rock
I'm no expert, but I would suggest asking for pictures before buying. That way you can inspect it to make sure the VS1 is actually eye-clean.

AprilBaby

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Final thought: check WF or Brian Gavin before you pull the trigger.

krisjon

Shiny_Rock
Not the best cut. Scores a 3.9 on the HCA.
You can do better and need more information before making such an important purchase.

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
alpackie|1409096417|3739789 said:
I'm no expert, but I would suggest asking for pictures before buying. That way you can inspect it to make sure the VS1 is actually eye-clean.

A GIA or AGS VS1 will always be eyeclean. You don't have to ask.

You only need to ask at VS2 and lower.

As for the stone from Blue Nile. It's on the Steep Deep side.

Please read the below and run the stone through the HCA (explained below). I have a feeling it will not score well. In which case you need to keep looking.

If you want to shop at Blue Nile, that's your choice. Stick to the Signature LIne and run the stones through the HCA. And read the below (so you understand what the HCA is).

The entire purpose of faceting a diamond is to reflect light.