shape
carat
color
clarity

Need Help Purchasing First Stone - engagement

burntskye

Rough_Rock
Hi All,

I'm a newbie! This is my first post. I have never purchased valuable piece of jewelry before but am hunting for the perfect stone for an engagement ring. i have elected not to go the diamond route and am instead interested in sapphires and spinels.

My preferences are: a high end, icy colored stone (lavenders, blues, peaches and mint greens - no reds, pinks, yellows or dark hues), precision cut or near precision (round or oval preferred but flexible - no pear, trillian or marquise), untreated, 1-2.5ct, loupe clean sapphire or spinel stone that sparkles like crazy. Price range for the stone is $4k-$7k - would say the most important part of this stone to me is its brilliance, luster and sparkle - i want it to be seen across the room! I am really willing to consider anything if its a perfect stone - i am flexible.

it will be set in a custom simple platinum claw band. possible micro pave diamonds in the shank but not probable. ring finger is a size 10 if that makes a difference. I feel head over heals in love with this below stone but its just too large for everyday wear (forever) and out of my price range. i am drawn to montana sapphires and i do enjoy the silvery aqua blue sapphires that come from there but i havent found the perfect one. i actually love alot of the sapphires and spinels on the Wildfish Gems site - what are your experiences wit them as a vendor?

http://wildfishgems.com/inc/sdetail/10826/18358

In my research i've read suggestions about going to a jeweler and sourcing the stone that way, others say buy the stone and get it set, go to gem shows, etc. what is the best way to purchase a gemstone of this importance? I dont mind purchasing online and understand/have read the camera issues/tips with capturing colors of stones.