shape
carat
color
clarity

AGS0 stone with a not so great Ideal-scope

dazedandc0nfused

Rough_Rock
Are AGS0 stones supposed to be great light performers? I'm not an expert but the below ideal-scope doesn't look great.
x_-_copy.jpg

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
This just goes to show that some AGS 0 stones are better than others. Very smart to get idealscope images on any round brilliant. If I am paying the premium for an AGS ideal cut stone, I want a better idealscope image than that one. However, I am sure it is still a very nice diamond in the overall scheme of things.

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
can you post the numbers and or the report please?

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
dazedandc0nfused|1406785608|3723595 said:
Sure Karl.

AGS 104070836007 1.026c
interesting.
Light Performance: 0
Polish: Ideal
Symmetry: Ideal
Table: 58.7%
Crown Angle: 35.3
Crown Height: 14.6%
Girdle: Faceted, 1.7% to 3.8%
Pavilion Angle: 41.1
Pavilion Depth: 43.6%
Star Length: 51%
Lower Girdle Length: 78%
Total Depth: 61.6%
Culet: Pointed

attached is the report.

Attachments

• 104070836007-pldqr.pdf
    375.1 KB · Views: 56

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
Its not a combo you would expect to get 0 but it looks like the heavens aligned.
I am not a fan of these odd ags0 there it too much chance of scanner error and problems with the grading system itself giving it a higher grade than it deserved.

Its not a train wreck and would actually likely be pretty in person but it is debatable if it belongs among the best.

WinkHPD

Ideal_Rock
Trade
There is a tendency to think that all AGS 0 cut grade diamonds are going to be incredible, and the truth is that they are all pretty darn nice in order to qualify for that highly sought after cut grade.