shape
carat
color
clarity

4.1c Colour Change Sapphire for my push pressie!

LadyNewton

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone!
I'm a newbie - both to PS and to the world of coloured gems. I've been wanting to get myself a nice COLOURED gem to set into a ring for my push pressie (just gave birth to baby #3!) :D

I have been thinking of getting a spinel or a sapphire, and recently came across this large colour change sapphire for a low 4-digit sum (which is still princely for a newbie purchase IMHO, esp for sthg i cannot see or touch) by a dealer over ebay.

It is completely untreated and unheated, and comes with a AIGS cert. I just hope the dealer sends me what's on the cert though! The picture on the cert shows a blue stone but his pictures depict a violet and pink colour change stone?

I am concerned about the lack of clarity (it is VS/SI) and also the colour does not seem saturated. There are also brownish spots on the table but I am hoping that the ring setting may be able to camouflage them.

However, the size and colour change properties are very appealing and I wonder if this stone is deemed a 'good buy' and suitable to be set as a ring?

Appreciate all advise, thanks a mil!

colour_change_sapphire1.jpg

colour_change_sapphire2.jpg

colour_change_sapphire3.jpg

colour_change_sapphire4.jpg

endless_summer

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Congrats on the baby! I think the stone looks really pretty! I can't speak to whether or not it's a good buy, but the pics look nice, and once it's on hand, I can't imagine the inclusions you see would be too obvious. I am sure that others will chime in to provide you with better help and guidance, but if you like it, then enjoy it :)

ephsea

Shiny_Rock