Do you obey laundry labels?

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I don't.

Everything gets washed in hot water.

April20

Ideal_Rock
Re: Do you obey laundry direction labels?

Nope.

I was everything but things I'm going to bleach in cold water. Bleach gets hot water. The only directions I follow are to dry clean.

monarch64

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

No. But I have a degree in Textiles/Apparel so I know what I'm doing. The label instructions are there to cover the manufacturer's butt. Dry clean only is often b.s.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

I should add, I don't buy anything, ever that requires dry cleaning. :knockout:

amc80

Ideal_Rock

No. Example- I just got some new sheets and the directions say to use cold water. Um, gross.

AGBF

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
kenny|1400547610|3676422 said:
I don't.

Whoa! I'm not that radical! I certainly use the laundry labels as a guide. I do not wash everything in hot water.

On the other hand, I do use my own judgement as well. I am in my 60's and have been at this for a long time. Although I still make an occasional mistake, I no longer put a red flannel shirt in with white underwear on the hot cycle. So I tend to trust my own instincts and do not feel I need to be a slave to the instructions.

Nonetheless, I like to wash dark items that are not filthy (and thus do not require hot water and bleach) in colder water with a detergent meant for dark items. And so forth.

Deb/AGBF
:saint:

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Not always. I've taken clothing construction and textiles classes, so I have a pretty good idea of whether I need to follow the label instructions or not. Plus I've learned from plenty of mistakes made along the way! :lol:

Sakuracherry

Brilliant_Rock
No, not always. I handwash silk, wool and cashmere. I rarely use dry cleaning. My husband is only allowed to buy non-iron shirts for work. I only send out winter jackets, formal dresses, and suits for drycleaning.

Saoirse2

Shiny_Rock
No.