shape
carat
color
clarity

IGI valuation - what does it mean?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.
H

hlpkaixin3344

Hello everyone!

I am new to pricescope and I have enjoyed reading all the postings and learning more about diamonds! In fact, so much so that I can''t stop reading pricescope even though we''ve just bought the ring!

My fiance and I just purchased my very first (and hopefully not last...) diamond ring and suffice it to say that it was a very stressful process to spend such a large amount of money on something for which prices vary so greatly and where its so easy to be duped! Prior to purchase, we had the ring appraised by the IGI and they provided a valuation (largely based on the stone''s GIA cert I think) of over 75% or $35,000 more than our purchase price. What does that mean? Does it mean that we got a good deal or is the IGI valuation (based on "retail replacement") more or less meaningless?

Thanks for your help! (I think I''ve gone from stressed purchaser to stressed owner!)

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 4/1/2005 2:48:38 AM
Author:Anonymous Wrote:

Does it mean that we got a good deal or is the IGI valuation (based on ''retail replacement'') more or less meaningless?
Second
7.gif
sorry to say that...

Rank Amateur

Brilliant_Rock
You''d need to ask your insurance guy how it affects the coverage on your diamond. You might end up paying premiums on some meaningless (and I agree with this term) valuation yet not get the replacement you deserve if you have a loss.

A really poor appraisal can venture from the realm of meaningless into that of injurious.

oldminer

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I suggest you investigate the accuracy of the appraisal. I have seen some of these with astronomically high numbers. There is no limit on possible retail mark-up except that reality and competition prevent actual high selling prices far better than appraisers might want us to believe.