shape
carat
color
clarity

How to make an informed decision without data?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

afitzhugh

Rough_Rock
So im new to this, and the one thing that is becoming apparent is that the vast majority of diamonds out there only have GIA reports without much of the specifications that allow more detailed analysis of the diamonds quality. Given that, how can one make an informed choice? For example Blue Nile seems to have a diamond in just about any standard specification. Without being able to do further analysis, or seeing the thing, how do people decide what to do? Do you just bite the bullet and take a shot?

A bit ''whelmed at the prospect of buying at the moment. :) (Is too much information hurting me in this case? :)

Thanks for any insight in advance!

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
How does "informed... without data" sound to you ??
33.gif

You could "take a shot" if you know what to look for after the fact. If not, and the seller didn''t do the homework either, who can ever tell how the one diamond you ever get to see looks compared to others and, more importantly, what choices are you missing
20.gif

afitzhugh

Rough_Rock
Its a question of availability I guess. It seems the number of diamonds available with full data is a minor subset of those on the market. So what do people do? Find a diamond that seems reasonable, then somehow get full reports done before buying? Or do people here who know, just stick with those small number of vendors with the ability to generate full reports? What happens when they dont have the stone you want, how do they find it? Do they have to aquire stones and evalate them one-by-one, or when they search do they have access to more information? I guess "how does the diamond retail industry work, and what should a consumer reasonably expect a vendors responsibilities to be?"

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Date: 4/1/2005 4:32:40 AM