shape
carat
color
clarity

Would you tell the truth if someone show you a fake..

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
diamond ring? I mean an obvious fake... :bigsmile:

A guy showed me his watch (a gift from his brother) and asked me if I thought it was real, but it was an obvious fake...would you tell him/her the truth ?.. :bigsmile:

madelise

Ideal_Rock
Premium
And THEY thought it was real? No, I'd keep my mouth trap shut, an tell them, "congratulations!"

OreoRosies86

Ideal_Rock
Premium
No, because I'm not a professional and wouldn't feel qualified to say "You have a fake", and I would also not want to cause any problems between them and whoever gifted them the item. If they are that concerned they can go to a jeweler.

aljdewey

Ideal_Rock
My response would be "that's really best answered by taking it to a professional jeweler. Anything else is just speculative."

MissGotRocks

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
aljdewey|1397663152|3654371 said:
My response would be "that's really best answered by taking it to a professional jeweler. Anything else is just speculative."

I have to agree with Alj. This is an honest answer and also the most helpful. Directing them to a professional is the best course - let the jeweler let them down and salvage the friendship.

Karl_K

Super_Ideal_Rock
Trade
aljdewey|1397663152|3654371 said:
ditto!

Trekkie

Brilliant_Rock
Depends on the situation. A friend once showed off with a "2ct diamond set in platinum" that he had bought his wife. It was actually a cheap cz set in silver. :rolleyes: Initially I was very polite, just smiled and said, "that's nice".

He harped on about it for months, and I said nothing. Then I received my engagement ring - much, much smaller and set in palladium. He made the mistake of mocking it, so I responded by saying that at least mine's real...