shape
carat
color
clarity

Uncut sapphire - worth anything??

Michaelbenedict

Rough_Rock
Hello,

So I am new to jewels, have been a precious metal collector for years. Went to a gem mine in Boone, NC last week and found 2 rubies, and a sapphire I am having cut. I also found this smooth, nicely shaped sapphire that I didn't want cut. It is shaped like an arrow head, beautifully shaped with almost perfect edges. Is there any value to it? I do not have a scale but am estimating it weighs an ounce. It is about an inch and a half long, an inch wide, and a quarter inch thick. Would there be more value if I had it cut?

_10493.jpg

_10494.jpg

Edward Bristol

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
I think if you have it polished and cleaned or cut the base you can set it in a nice pendant as one natural piece.

I have done that with bg crystals and it is always fantastic. wild but very unique and people attribute healing powers to full crystals.

From the photo I can however not see if it is corundum or not.

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The value depends on whether it could be cut and when cut what it would look like, the size, the clarity, the colour etc. Not all stones can be cut and it depends on what's going on internally.

The stone looks very shallow so perhaps might not cut to a gemstone suitable for jewellery or if it did, it might be quite small to maximise the best cut. At the end of the day the price could range from $5 to $50,000 depending on what happens during the cutting process!

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
How sure are you that it is a sapphire? From the back view, it looks too included to be facetable. Note that there is usually a 70% loss of material during the faceting process.

Barrett

Ideal_Rock
How to put this gently..... :saint: it's worth pretty much nothing. Especially if you went to a gem mine in Boone, N.C. Why?