carat
color
clarity

Working in healthcare and baring tattoos

fiona00004

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
I need some advice....

I work in healthcare as an occupational therapist in a large nursing home full time. Been there 10 years and pretty confident that I am a good therapist.

In the past couple of years, I have added some tattoos, one on each arm near the wrist and of course they are visible when I have shorter sleeves. The tattoos are of my 2 kids' names.

I started dreaming of getting a tattoo sleeve a few years ago and the idea never cooled off...I would really like to get one.

What is stopping me is what people might think at work. I get comments here and there... I don't think anyone so far has dared to give negative comments but I some some people might have preconceived ideas or maybe even shook their heads behind my back.

In my mind, I think hey,one life to live...why not get what I want? On the other hand, I am wondering if baring a sleeve would be too much for people at work....

Any experience with this?? Anyone working in healthcare care to share what they think?

Thanks!!

ihy138

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
I work in the mental health field, and at my agency it is considered part of the "dress code" to not have visible tattoos at all. Someone was actually fired over getting one on their neck. Although I don't agree with their decision, you might want to verify what your employer's policy is on this. If it's just a matter of what people might think, I say do what you want and it's YOUR body! If they're offended, they can look elsewhere. I have a few piercings on my ear (two holes, cartilage, tragus, etc.) and I've gotten comments but that's been about it. Mostly it's about how painful they looked, nothing really negative. People are usually more interested than anything else.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The workplace is a funny place.
In return for that paycheck we sometimes have to give up stuff you'd think you should have a right to.