shape
carat
color
clarity

First time buyer questions re- sapphires

Sunshine219

Rough_Rock
Hi all! I've been searching for a yellow sapphire for some time and thought I knew enough to her a good stone, but after lurk on here for a bit I quickly realized I was wrong lol. I have found 2 stones that I like. Could you tell me your opinion? I'm also up to recommendations to sites and sellers. I like a lighter yellow color.
I found both of these at the natural sapphire co.
Im undecided about a halo design or just pronged. I have a few settings I could share for opinions too of you'd like.

Thanks everyone!

_14844.jpg

_14845.jpg

FrekeChild

Super_Ideal_Rock
Those are a pretty, fresh lemon color. Natural Sapphire Company sucks though. (Do a google search for: pricescope.com Natural Sapphire Company). Both of those look to have cut issues.

I'm not good with yellow sapphires, so maybe someone else can chime in, but here are a few:

http://www.gemfix.com/sapphire_yellow_orange.html

Sunshine219

Rough_Rock
That's good to know, thanks! I've read mixed reviews about them. I've been to a few local diamond dealers but they were not well versed in sapphires. And I feel lost with all the sites that sell stones. I have until Sept to find the perfect stone :twirl:

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
welcome!
first, most diamond vendors/jewelers know zilch about color stones...in fact, you probably already know more than they do.
personally, I wouldn't buy from Natural Sapphire.....
and I'd just keep saving $ until I found "the one" that made my heart sing.
how to do that?
see as many as you can in person....read lots here....and shop with vendors with good return policies so you can return stones if they don't met your criteria.
remember: in the color stone world COLOR is queen/king and I think CUT comes next.
now that you've identified the yellow color you prefer, decide on the cut.
also, decide if you can live with heated only or want an untreated stone.