shape
carat
color
clarity

Grey Spinel for e ring - picking and buying stone/setting?

Kikyo5622

Rough_Rock
Hello :) I just joined the forum to ask questions, but I have been oogling rings here for a few months :naughty:

My boyfriend and I are getting engaged soon (we are a very casual couple who discuss this freely - we have been together for 5 years, friends for 10 years). I am picky picky picky so I said I would pick my own stone/ring - he can foot the bill (looking at a $1k-2K budget total).

Anywho, browsing rings for months, and I fell in love with grey spinels :love: It still has the sparkle of the traditional diamond ring, but has that stormy, steely sort of character to it. I love them - they are very "me" :)

I especially love the grey spinels that I've seen posted by Frekechild *drool* - watching her youtube vids to see how they behave, I think I'm leaning towards a cut and color like her darker Barry cut spinel.

I suppose my question is, I don't really know anything about selecting stones, or settings that flatter the stone, etc... I have zero experience and zero knowledge (other than what I learned reading the sticky post for newbies to picking colored stones :razz:). If I wanted a stone like the Barry cut, do I just contact that jeweler for pricing on a similar stone? Can you only purchase pre-cut stones or can you tell a jeweler what you are looking for and they can obtain an uncut spinel and cut it?

Aaand more questions (sorry!) I really like this band - https://www.etsy.com/listing/126399398/diamond-engagement-ring-setting-split?ref=favs_view_1

I assume I can send them the stone for a "custom order" and they can set my stone in this band?

I know this is the millionth question :oops: , but in your professional opinion is there anything unflattering about the band or setting I have chosen that would take away from the beauty of a grey spinel?