shape
carat
color
clarity

looking for the right ring

mhoway

Rough_Rock
My girlfriend and I have been dating for 4 year and its time for me to ask her the big question. We have been living in Queens New York together for about 2 years now. I am a teacher and she is an actor. I am the quiet one and she is the happy social one. Some might call her a little hippy esk.
I am really exited about asking her but it turns out I have no idea what kind of ring she would want. I went through her rings that she has and over the year have talked about some of them. Her grandmother gave most of them to her. Which makes me thing she would want something antique. The rings are all different shapes and colors, so not much help there.
I contacted her sister and asked her for help, and over Thanksgiving she was able to get a lot of information about the kind of ring she would like. She found out that it should be antique and natural design, like filigree. White gold and central old-world style diamond--European cut with flat/wide facets. Some whimsy would be good.
I was given a diamond from my grandmother when she passed away my mother has been keeping a hold of it for me. I know the ring is not at all what she would like but I could still use the diamond if it is possible. I am trying to get some help with finding a jewelry maker/seller that fills this profile? Any help would be great.

dtnyc

Brilliant_Rock
Can you tell us more about the stone you have?
shape? size?

Personally, if you have a stone that you know you are already working with I would seek her input on the setting style. While she may have a lot of vintage rings from her grandmother, that might not be what she wants in an engagement ring that she will be wearing everyday. It sounds like most of those rings were likely gifted to her, so she hasn't had much say in them. Does she wear them frequently? What is the style of the ring that she wears most often?