shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinions on this oregon sunstone

fiona00004

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
I know nothing about sunstones but this one caught my eye because of the color.... what are your opinions based on the pictures? It is stated as a 1.45 ct. oregon spectral mined sunstone...I asked the seller for pictures on the hand in natural lighting... not sure if I will get a response...

any of your opinions greatly appreciated!!

_11450.jpg

_11451.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Colour looks good as is the cutting. Note that sunstone is a softer stone (MOH 6.5) so will require gentler care.

katharath

Ideal_Rock
Wow!! I've never seen a sunstone that color...very pretty. I have nothing insightful to add though, sorry. I personally think that's an unusual color for sunstone but I have very little experience with it IRL. I like this one though.

fiona00004

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
thanks chrono and katharath... indeed the color is very attractive.

Thanks for the info about its hardness... I was thinking for a pendant... definitely not for a ring. I am really into reds and yellow gold!

Xrisus

Shiny_Rock
Nice top red color sunstone, hopefully it is a reputable vendor. My only concern would be to make sure it is not a diffusion treated red andesine as the color of them can be somewhat similar to this beauty.

fiona00004

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
yeah... it is marked treaments: none known. I can ask to clarify...

The vendor added two more photos under fluorescent lighting

looks a bit too organgy but could be because of lighting

_11459.jpg

_11460.jpg

Xrisus

Shiny_Rock
Those pictures do look a lot more like a sunstone to my novice eye, but if it takes on that nice red color in various lighting-that would be fantastic. One of the nicest sunstones I have seen was a Richard Homer piece that had a nice orangish-red to it.

5894sunstone.jpg

GregS

Brilliant_Rock
Looks nice but moody. My Chrysoberyl is the same way.

ChrisA222

Brilliant_Rock
Trade