shape
carat
color
clarity

Questions on sphene

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
I saw this sphene and fell in love, but because it's sphene, I can't think of any way to wear it that would be okay. (I don't like necklaces.) Hence, I am posting it for lurkers, and your comments.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-90ct-Beautiful-Cushion-Cut-Natural-Green-Sphene-/261269779809?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cd4e47561

I see on the back side (on the video) that it seems to have some type of line that goes through it. Is that common for sphene? In the still pic, I also see a brown area that corresponds to this line. Are the 2 related? I am not familiar with sphenes. One day, I'd like to get sphene earrings, but can't find a pair of clean, chrome green ones right now. Are they very difficult to find?

Does anyone know someone who is willing to set a sphene?

erinl

Brilliant_Rock
I am no expert on sphenes, but that one looks a little murky to me, color-wise and inclusion-wise.

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
Thanks Erin. I'm not sure what a "good" sphene even looks like. I just know I like the green ones.

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hmmm,
I would be concerned about that inclusion that looks like it cleaves the stone in half. I wonder if that would also make it more fragile to set.

Not too many people will set a sphene, way too soft. I hope you can find someone.

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock
TL, good point. I'm not going to buy that one because it's too big for anything but a pendant (which I don't like) or a ring (which is too soft for sphene). I was just asking to understand better what to look for in a sphene. I hope to buy a smaller pair for earrings.

davi_el_mejor

Brilliant_Rock
Everything TL said.

I will say if that inclusion wasn't there, that color is GREAT. Reminds me of the stones I had recut for my earrings.