shape
carat
color
clarity

Can someone tell me if these pearls are real or fake?

BettyJewel

Rough_Rock
Sorry for the poor photo quality. I'm no expert and would like to know if these are real or not. I do not wear them since the thread is damaged in a few places. If they are real then I would like to have them restrung and a better clasp put on. The clasp shown is cheap metal and not gold or silver. image_448.jpg image_449.jpg

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
They look like real freshwater pearls to me. If so, because of the irregular shapes, they wouldn't be worth much, but they are still very pretty. One way to check is run your teeth over them. Real pearls feel slightly gritty, fakes feel smooth.

BettyJewel

Rough_Rock
seaurchin|1369686853|3454619 said:
They look like real freshwater pearls to me. If so, because of the irregular shapes, they wouldn't be worth much, but they are still very pretty. One way to check is run your teeth over them. Real pearls feel slightly gritty, fakes feel smooth.

Thank you for your reply. This is why I question that they are genuine. I am not able to feel any grittyness. That coupled with the low quality clasp. However they are knotted between each pearl and the quality (mostly color) degrades considerably in the pearls at the back near the clasp.

I would just like some opinions before I take them in for restringing.

mynattk

Shiny_Rock
They look real to me. I don't know how much restringing and a new clasp would cost, but it might be worth it to consider a new strand depending on how worn these are and whether they will clean up. I'm sure others will chime in with more helpful info. Maybe someone can say how much restringing and a new clasp would run?

Just for conversation sake, were these a gift? Tell us your story 8)

mrs taylor

Brilliant_Rock
whatever they are, they're quite pretty!

Blossy

Rough_Rock
They look like they have a beautiful shiny lustre :)

AnnaGraceDreamPearls

Rough_Rock
Trade