Rough_Rock
Hi guys.

So .... I have a stone I like.
GIA 2136284273 1.08ct
HCA 1.3

another dealer swears that his
GIA 2146045456 1.01ct
HCA 2.7

will win head over heels when compared side by side on the street in natural light.

Price is identical .... under 5K.

Looking to buy today so please help.

Thank you.

bizmord

Rough_Rock
bump .... nothing? :)

mercoledi

Ideal_Rock
I'm not an expert, but short of being able to see both stones together in person I'd pick the GIA 2136284273 1.08ct. It will appear much larger (.1-.2mm!) and I prefer stones with smaller tables.

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Okay, we were posting at the same time!

I generally do not choose stones without pictures because I think they are important, but by paper only, assuming they are equally eyeclean, I'd probably choose the 1.08 I. It has great numbers, is larger, and I like the strong blue fluorescence. I do usually prefer H color, but the other wins on the basis of having the most in it's favor.

bizmord

Rough_Rock
diamondseeker2006|1360780845|3379266 said:

I generally do not choose stones without pictures because I think they are important, but by paper only, assuming they are equally eyeclean, I'd probably choose the 1.08 I. It has great numbers, is larger, and I like the strong blue fluorescence. I do usually prefer H color, but the other wins on the basis of having the most in it's favor.

So this other guy telling me that his 1.01 color H stone will outshine and look much better than the 1.08 color I is B.S.? especially just on the street without the pro lamps.

mercoledi

Ideal_Rock
In all honesty, it's impossible for any of us to know. We rely on pictures, ASET images and other quantitative indicators of performance to judge how a stone will perform in the real world without the benefit of actually laying eyes on it. Without those tools, our opinions are just opinions, not concrete data-driven decisions.