shape
carat
color
clarity

round brilliant depth

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

BlackIce

Rough_Rock
Hi

I''d like some opinions on The Diamond Guy''s 61% total depth cutoff.

TLS

Shiny_Rock
who is the diamond guy?

I am no expert but heard that staying under 62 is a good rule, or for me preferably under 61.8 (At least that is what I thought, but I wanted a super-ideal cut), much more than that and you might be paying for weight you can't see and if you go way over that like 64 or something then you could have even worse problems with regard to the optical properties as well as paying for weight you can't see.

mine ended up being 61.6. Would I have liked it closer to 60-61? probably because then maybe the diameter would have been a little bit bigger... but finding the right diamond can be tricky so I wasn't going to knock one out of contention because of that... it was still a great depth that would allow the diamond to be sparkly and beautiful. Sometimes it is tricky to find what you are looking for, for me I was trying to find a tough size & an eye clean SI1 with G or H color, so when it came along I jumped on it. I wanted to definitely stay under 62, not to say there aren't beautiful diamonds with depths greater than this !

If you want a super ideal you probably want the depth under 62, I think that is what I heard. I think Nice eye listed what they favored in one of the threads and I can't remember exactly but i thought it was no more than 61.8 or something like that? I could be wrong about that though so don't quote me :)

edited to add: the more important thing though are the crown and pavilion angles from everything i have read.

BlackIce

Rough_Rock
The Diamond Guy is Fred Cuellar.