shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinion on these OECs?

sunkist

Ideal_Rock
Hello Experienced OEC-lovers! This section of PS is new to me since I haven't been on here much the last couple years while raising my 2 babies :) I'm excited to see these threads with collections of gorgeous old cut stones! Wow!

I'm now looking for an OEC myself, and wondered if I could get some opinions on photos and certs. I'm looking for a stone with nice classic OEC pattern. Just wondering if anyone can comment as to whether one of these stones would be keeper or not.

_2075.jpg

sunkist

Ideal_Rock
Also, here is another one.

k-1.jpg

GemFever

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I'm not really an expert in judging photos, so I'll cautiously say that they all look pretty nice, nothing jumps out immediately as a problem. Though maybe more expert PSers will disagree. My eye is most drawn to the stone in the second photo, but it may just be a good photo.

What I would advise though, is to ask for ASET scans of these stones. That should help to eliminate the poorer performers, and you can go from there. What's your desired color & clarity range?

Good luck finding your perfect OEC! I'm sure it will be gorgeous :))

ForteKitty

Ideal_Rock
The single one jumped out at me. Great pattern. The top right has major leakage under the table. Top middle has lazy center facets and dark inclusions. Top left looks wonky under the table to me.

sunkist

Ideal_Rock
Thanks GemFever and ForteKitty!

The second picture of the solo stone is one I've seen in person and really liked. It has chips and nicks on the girdle and scratches on the facets. Vendor says he can clean it up and not loose any weight.

Should I have him do this and then take it to an appraiser before making a final decision on it?

ForteKitty

Ideal_Rock
Yes! I really like the pattern in that one.

sunkist

Ideal_Rock
And do you think that I should ask for an ASET or just ask to see the stone with my own eyes. I guess it would be nice to do both!

sunkist