shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinions on emerald-cut images, please

Blue-Seeker

Shiny_Rock
Hello -
I am looking for a high-color, small-ish emerald-cut. I want to set it in a simple bezel so I can stack it with other gemstone rings I own. I want a bright stone that won't look dull when set in a bezel. I like square-ish emerald-cuts. I'm considering this diamond from James Allen http://www.jamesallen.com/diamonds/D-VS2-Very Good-Cut-Emerald-Diamond-1384345.asp. Here are the ASET image and scan for the stone. It is a 2B on the cut calculator. Could I get your opinions on this stone please? Thank you very much.

1384345aset.jpg

Christina...

Ideal_Rock
I think this look quite good for an emerald cut. I'm not an expert and there are a few step cut pros around, so I would wait to get their opinion, but I think it looks good. =) It has a larger table than I prefer but I have learned that you can't really judge a step cut by their numbers. I'll be interested in hearing what others have to say.

shimmer

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
It does have a large table but that can be ok. What worries me is 1) crown height on lower end and especially 2) extremely thin areas of girdle. These combined, I would pass.

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
I'm not loving it. But that's because it's not my personal preference for emeralds in terms of appearance. The table is larger than I like, the faceting not as precise and the crown height is lower than what I consider desirable. But the ASET does show decent performance, so if you like the look of it then that's what matters.

Blue-Seeker

Shiny_Rock