shape
carat
color
clarity

Another newbie who needs help!

EVS

Rough_Rock
Hi there! :wavey:

My fella and I are in the process of picking out an engagement ring/wedding band set for me. We have some ideas, and don't know how to go about turning our vision into reality. We are complete newbies to this scene.

We are imagining a large center stone (I'm thinking 10-12mm diameter, maybe?) in the dark grey to black spectrum, in probably a cushion cut. I think I'd like if it weren't completely opaque. Is black spinel our best bet for that? Would that be hardy enough for everyday wear?

I would also like a very very narrow band, maybe as narrow as 1.5mm, with pave around the shank (or at least half way around). And a little matching pave band, just as narrow. Not sure about the metal; something like white gold/platinum. I'd like a halo, but I'm not sure if that would take us out of our budget range.

Our budget isn't that huge. We'd like to be able to pull this off for a couple grand. Does that sound possible? Where do we start? Thanks in advance for any advice/guidance!

EVS

Rough_Rock
Also, we live in Tucson and are absolutely kicking ourselves for not tackling this while the gem show that just ended was in town!

chloeishere

Shiny_Rock
Welcome to pricescope!

Black spinel is completely opaque, so if you want a non-opaque stone, it is not the way to go. It does get a lovely shine, like black diamonds. Spinel is generally considered durable enough for everyday wear, but of course you should never wear fine jewelry 24/7-- it's best to take it off for cleaning and heavy work, gardening, working out, sleeping, etc. Otherwise, it is very likely your stone will be damaged.

You could get a grey spinel, which can be transparent-- I think there are several grey spinel rings around here (try searching for grey spinel/ gray spinel in the search bar), if you'd like to get an idea of how they will look.