shape
carat
color
clarity

OEC bought off of Ebay

blinglover78

Rough_Rock
Hi all.....I am new to pricescope as poster but have lurked for a while. I just bought a 2 carat OEC diamond off of ebay. It is a J color...VS1 or 2 clarity in a fairly simple platinum setting. I paid just under 6000 for it. I plan on taking it to get appraised and assuming it is what is was listed for on ebay.....would you say that was a good price? I do think the pictures were pretty bad in the listing which is why it didnt get much bidding activity but want to make sure I am not missing something. I would have thought it would have gone for more but then again I am clueless on the value of these diamonds. It seems like it's one of those if it seems to good to be true, it probably is sort of situations. Thanks.

kelpie

Ideal_Rock
If it's in good shape and the specs are as described (know they often aren't but that doesn't necessarily make it a bad deal) then it's worth at least 11k. OECs are usually lower color than J due to what the mines were producing at the time and while internally clean, the clarity could easily be knocked down for a bearded girdle or chips. Sounds really promising, I'm just managing your expectations that the appraiser could say it's something really different.

blinglover78

Rough_Rock
kelpie|1321474299|3063099 said:
If it's in good shape and the specs are as described (know they often aren't but that doesn't necessarily make it a bad deal) then it's worth at least 11k. OECs are usually lower color than J due to what the mines were producing at the time and while internally clean, the clarity could easily be knocked down for a bearded girdle or chips. Sounds really promising, I'm just managing your expectations that the appraiser could say it's something really different.

You brought up my only concern which is the color. I know that J color diamonds can have a hint of color to them but this may be a bit more than that. I will report back tomorrow. Thanks!