carat
color
clarity

New to Pearls

kama_s

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi guys,

I am relatively new to pearls - I just have a few strands that were passed on to me by family and a Tahitian pearl set I bought when we were in French Polynesia. I bought a pair of small studs from a high end jewelry store (Canadian version of Tiffany) a few years ago, but to my horror, the nacre is peeling off.
'
Hence, I'm in the market for new white everyday studs. I'd like to get two: a pair pf tiny (approximately 5.5mm) studs and another around 7-8mm (not entirely sure, but I think I'm leaning towards 7-7.5mm. I haven't tried various sizes so I don't know how they would look on me).

Sooo, I have a few questions for you ladies:

1- Where to buy? I was looking at Pearl Paradise, but they don't care any Freshadama in the 7-7.5mm range. Nor do they carry anything in the 5.5mm range.
2- Akoya or Freshadama? What are the difference?
3- Anything else i need to ask/look out for?

Thank you!!

kama_s

Ideal_Rock
Premium
This must be a PS record. A total of 44 views and no responses. I guess I'll take my chances then :wink2:

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
hi, also relatively new. hopefully, someone will answer your specific questions.....

how long have you had the pear/s that are shedding nacre? seems odd to me but, hey, i'm also new to pearls.

jeweln

Brilliant_Rock
Hi KAMA S ,
you can email pearl paradise about what you are looking for ,sometimes they have items that are not listed .I read about white metallic fresh water pearls and I emailed them about a necklace ( it was not listed on their site ,only colored metallics are ) they emailed back saying they have 1 strand left so I bought it for the same price as the colored ones .it is beautiful . then recently I was interested in a mixed south sea pearl necklace and I asked them to mix half of 2 strands from their site for me and they did ,again beautiful .