shape
carat
color
clarity

Light Pink/Lavender Stones?

blackkatya

Rough_Rock
So, I'm a complete newbie to PS, and have been lurking for a couple of weeks. I'm searching for a stone to make a ring as my graduation present to myself (since I hate the traditional class rings that are out there). I'm hoping to find a light pink or lavender stone--I was thinking maybe sapphire or spinel, and it will have to be a stone on the bigger side since I have big fingers (e-ring is an 8.5!).

Any ideas?

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
If you're on a budget, I would go for a spinel, as they tend to be less expensive than their sapphire counterparts, and they're not treated (as most sapphires are heated). How big are you going for because I know of a two carat one that's around $50 right now. :bigsmile:

What's your budget.

blackkatya

Rough_Rock
For the stone itself, I'd say $300-400 or so. Do you have pictures of this spinel?

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I love this seller, and I have bought numerous stones from her.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Light-Pinkish-Lavender-1-80Cts-Unheated-Spinel-Gem-11060129-/260881111319?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cbdb9d917

If interested, I would make an offer on it. It's well cut, and a pinkish lavender. Not sure if it's the size you're looking for though. She has some lighter spinels that are a very good value.

For your budget, you might be able to get a precision cut spinel around 1.5 to 2 carats, but they're so hard to come by and sell out faster than hot potatoes.

blackkatya

Rough_Rock
Bit smaller than I had hoped, but everything else is perfect. And for the price I think I could find a setting that will make it look a little bigger. Thanks!

minmin001

Ideal_Rock
TL|1320548221|3054990 said:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Light-Pinkish-Lavender-1-80Cts-Unheated-Spinel-Gem-11060129-/260881111319?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cbdb9d917