carat
color
clarity

The Kimberley Process and the Chinese - New Article

MissStepcut

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Re: For NGOs, the KP Show must go on……

Thanks for sharing. I am a law student and will be writing a paper on international environmental law this semester: I definitely think I'll tackle extraction & the environment. It'll be interesting to see if diamond mining pulls out ahead relative to other extraction industries.

Regular Guy

Ideal_Rock
Karl_K|1314498810|3003155 said:
denverappraiser|1314473168|3001865 said:
It may be back, or maybe someone somewhere else will pick up the baton. ‘Crafted with Pride in Botswana’ has a certain ring to it…. :bigsmile:
That isn't as hard to do as it used to be ,,,,,,
Find a way to track the rough from the mine to the cutting factory, rdif? bar codes?
Buy out and hire Paul S. to set up and run a large cutting factory to cut them.
Build a BtoB online sales system.
Have Paul sell them through his dealer network, Market them through Jon, Wink and Todd for internet sales with John P. in charge of US sales.
Have John train a group of instructors.
Spend some $$$ on advertising after hiring some marketing experts.
Expand the network as fast as it is possible to train people.
Hire the best sales team in China they can find and have John teach them the Paul/John system for selling diamonds.
Do the same for India.
That would be a nice start right there :}

I rather do like this marketing plan.

As the captain used to say on Star Trek, the Next Generation...

....make it so!

One possible problem will be....sufficient interest.

That is to say, is there a tipping point we need to get to, for this plan to work?

As it is, there may be some drag to the system to pay a premium for additional attention to cut.

Presumably, an additional premium will be needed to accomplish the rest.

And, in the vision you have above, you'd want to go one of 3 ways:

a) go 100% ethically sourced, with the associated premiums expected