carat
color
clarity

My first 5 stones

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi,
I'm new to the colored stones forum but have been admiring everyone's lovely jewelry and colored stones.
I ordered some inexpensive stones so that I could use for some hands-on experience and they came in today.
Here is what I got and what I learned.

1.63 amethyst - *I* cant find anything wrong with this one
1.45 peridot - pretty color but has a window
1.01 almandine garnet - too dark to appreciate unless outside in bright light
0.81 rhodolite - again, to dark unless out side.
0.41 apatite - little stone, big window

Also, learned that for my dainty :???: size 7ish fingers I probably need to stick with larger stones like 8mm or larger.

Please point out anything you can see. You cant hurt my feelings...these are my starter stones and they were cheap.
Their fine cuts are also related to their price so nothing spectular there.

Thanks for your feedback.

tyty

edit to put descriptions in order in pictures (doh!)

pic1 5 new stones.jpg

pic2 5 new stones.jpg

pic3 5 new stones.jpg

Arcadian

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Your stones look quite nice. :appl: some varieties of garnet do tend to close up in some types of lighting. Its the nature of the beast really.

The peridot looks good, the window would no doubt close in the right type of setting. (either halo or bezel)

The apatite isn't the most suited for a ring as its quite soft. I've got sphene set into rings just fine, but I'm quite careful with it and my setter had years of experience with soft stones. (thats very important)

All in all, you've done quite well! You should see what my first stone looked like :shock: :lol: (what can I say, I was 14!)