shape
carat
color
clarity

Need Sewing Patterns and Help

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

verticalhorizon

Brilliant_Rock
Who here sews or makes clothing for a hobby or profession?

I''m looking to get into it as a hobby (at first) and want to find GOOD patterns and help buying my first sewing machine.

On first inspection, a lot of the hits online are kind of hoky-grandma type stuff. I want to find some practice patterns that are contemporary and fashionable. I figure skirts will be the easiest to start with.

Also recommendations on how to take accurant measurements (on my FW to start with of course!) would be very helpful.

Thanks!

Maria D

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
VH, I am a self-taught hobby sewer. I like fashion sewing best but will also do home dec, which I find tedious and boring, since you can save so much money sewing your own window treatments.

First and foremost, get a decent sewing machine. A common mistake is for a would-be hobbyist to buy a $99 Wal-Mart special. The thinking is that it's better to start with something cheap in case the new hobby doesn't pan out; then you won't have wasted much money. The problem is, if you get a crappy machine, you will be frustrated most of the time and will probably give up -- all the while thinking htat it's you and not the machine.

Be prepared for the cost of a good machine to be more than you thought it would. When I bought my machine in 1996 (a Bernina 1090s as shown on my avatar), I thought that a top-of-the-line machine would cost at most $500. Imagine my shock when the most basic model at the Bernina shop was $599! (Mine cost $1500.) And that is why I mentioned home dec: all you have to do to make the machine pay for itself is make a few simple window treatments. Ever price out custom window treatments?