shape
carat
color
clarity

Family stone vs. buying stone (feedback plz)

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Zeppelin

Rough_Rock
Well, I have been looking at diamonds for the past few months. I started out with the common neophyte idea that I wanted at least a 1-carat diamond and nothing less would do to express my love. Then, learning about price hikes at 1-carat and diamond spread and looking at pricing and quality, I got over the idea of "1.0 or bust" and started looking at stones more in the 0.8 carat range.

Well, all of this was with the idea that I could borrow some money from my grandparents to buy the ring. I am a full-time student with no income. All of the money I have saved goes towards paying my living expenses. Well, I hinted to my grandparents that I was thinking about trying to borrow some money from them to do this and could pay them back in a year or so when I''m an attorney. My grandma quickly said I should only buy what I can afford and should not go in debt to buy an engagement ring. Soooooo...

My girlfriend has a 0.5 carat G VS2 stone that was her grandmother''s. It is a lovely stone. The idea of buying a ring for her is more exciting to me, but she has frequently said we could sure save a lot of money if I just used her grandmother''s stone and maybe later on when I am working we could upgrade it and she could turn her grandma''s stone into a necklace or something.

I am wondering if anyone here has been in a similar situation and if you have regretted not buying your own stone vs. using a family stone. I think a lot of it is ego, and some of it is just that it would be more of a surprise to give her something she had never seen before. If I use the family stone, it will be reset in a different metal and setting, but it would still not be as much of a surprise since I would have to ask her for it (she wears it every day).

Any advice or thoughts are appreciated...

ChooChoo