shape
carat
color
clarity

Buying Emerald Cut Diamond would like some advice

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

MO

Rough_Rock
Looking to spend $22K-$24K for stone. Girlfriend wants big, I want quality (a common conflict I''m sure!!). Assuming very good symmetry/polish and shape, what are your thoughts about G versus F color? and VS2 versus VS1 clarity? Should I consider a clean SI for a large Emerald cut or will that be too noticeable? Would appreciate suggestions regarding optimal size / quality tradeoffs.

Mark

sluke

Shiny_Rock
I'm not an expert on Emerald cuts, but a good balance would be a G color VS2 stone. I'd tried on a G color VS2 5 carat emerald cut diamond at Cartier for fun...didn't see any yellow tint, even when compared to my E color RB. I'd also look for inclusions, but could not see any...and 5 carat is a big stone!

reena

Ideal_Rock
hi! with that kind of budget youll be able to get a killer EC. what size stone are you looking for?

i am also not an EC expert but i do know that you will be able see inclusions more easily than in a brilliant cut stone so you may want to be careful on the clarity.
2.gif

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It would likely be hard to tell F from G grades. And I would definitely look for VS2 or SI1 - there is plenty of room for very clean emerald cuts of such grades. While it is very true that inclusions might show more in ECs, is is obviously taken into account when the stones are cut. Clarity will have to be judged for each stone... it would be a waste to go for a higher clarity grade on paper just to hedge all bets in advance. You will still need to see the stone anyway.