shape
carat
color
clarity

Vegetarian and Seafood recipes that are good for freezing?

turtledazzle

Brilliant_Rock
Our little one is due in about six weeks, and I'm looking for some good vegetarian and/or seafood recipes that will freeze well.

I'm not really very experienced with freezing foods except for my baked ziti, which I know freezes well. One Thanksgiving I had a ton of mashed potatoes left over and, surprisingly, they froze pretty well. Otherwise, I'm a complete freezing novice. I do like to cook, but we just generally eat leftovers within a couple of days instead of freezing. However, with the new bebe, I know pulling something out of the freezer will be very nice.

I'd be very appreciative of any suggestions!

Octavia

Ideal_Rock
Re: Vegetarian and Seafood recipes that are good for freezin

I freeze as much as I can given the tiny amount of space we have, so I've got a couple of tips:

First, I usually put stuff in freezer bags, squeeze out the air, and freeze them flat. Stacking them takes up so much less space than other kinds of containers. Don't heat stuff up in the freezer bags, though -- thaw it a bit and and slide it out into a microwave-safe container instead. It's a bit tricky with liquids, but if you fill them upright and squeeze as much of the air out as you can, it will be fine -- doesn't have to be 100% free of air if you'll use it fairly soon.

Soups freeze well, as long as they are broth-based. Cream-based ones don't do as well. I've often made large vats of vegetable broth-based minestrone, lentil, veggie noodle, etc soups and frozen them in 1- or 2-serving portions. Veggie chili freezes well, too (I've done both a black bean version and a more traditional version with bulgur instead of meat).