shape
carat
color
clarity

Marginally clueless newb needs help.

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

dadamerican

Rough_Rock
Hey, everyone. I've read that this is THE place to go for advice about diamond-buying. And, boy, do I need some. Advice, that is.

So my girlfriend and I are going to get engaged in the next month or so. We've been shopping around for settings and I think we've found one we like. But I love her like the water loves the flower and I want to make sure I get her the best damn diamond for it possible. I'm a public school teacher, so the budget isn't exactly impressive, but I want the sparkliest, most impressive diamond I can get for my buck.

I'm looking for a round brilliant cut between .66 and .75 carats. No lower than J color, and eye clean. Brilliance and fire are big important factors here.

I've been looking at the diamonds these qualifications bring up and it's frankly overwhelming. What would your advice be for a New Yorker to do? Am I correct in thinking U.S.A Certed Diamonds has a NY office? There are so many listed here that I'm not even sure where to begin.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

EDIT: In this ring what is "be stock"? Is this a good ring? The IF caught my attention but the J . . .not so sure.

chialea

Brilliant_Rock
You might try having a look at this thread:
https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/engagement-ring-shopping-in-nyc.16663/

Good Old Gold is currently under construction, but they're supposed to be great. Give them a call or send them an email and see what you can do if you'd like to work with them.
1.gif

dadamerican

Rough_Rock
Cool. I've actually looked around a lot at Good Old Gold. They're definitely going to be a stand by, but I'd really like to know of a place that I can actually visit. Reading all the info online is nice, but I want to see the little buggers in my hand.

dadamerican

Rough_Rock