shape
carat
color
clarity

being unemployed: fun at first..not so much now

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

cocolaw

Brilliant_Rock
i called my single unemployed friend and she was some help, but i do not feel finished complaining. i would never burden my employed friends with this!

background: i worked as a recruiter in ny for a year, i was layed off in february, i took the ct bar exam in july, and now i''m looking for a job. i spent a really long time editing my resume, writing individual cover letters for local firms and mentally preparing myself to visit firms. you would not believe what kind of a toll being layed off takes on your ego---even though i was the last recruiter remaining and the only one to make a placement during the really rough times, i still felt totally worthless when i was let go. so i printed everything off and put on my professional clothes for the first time since being layed off, and i nervously walked into a law firm. i happily waited for an hour to speak with an attorney, and he blew me off within 3 minutes. i went back to my car and just broke down crying!! it''s not that he was particularly mean, it''s how impossible my job search feels. is anybody else dealing with a really frustrating job search???

i went to taco bell because i was already in the dumps, got 3 tacos, and came home and ate them and drank a newcastle. i feel better after the tacos and the beer, but i still feel like i have no idea what i am going to do. i am a major planner--i have always planned everything, and i always know what is going to happen next. i always registered for classes, tests, everything early. i feel most comfortable when i am a step ahead....i feel so lost right now!!

emilina22

Brilliant_Rock
I know exactly how you feel...