shape
carat
color
clarity

Unwanted Work Shower

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

indypitty

Shiny_Rock
I need to vent, ladies. I was married in June. I am a teacher, and my co-workers wanted to throw me a bridal shower at school before the end of the school year. I politely declined, as I truly did not want them to go to the trouble. At my school, collection envelopes are sent around for this type of thing. It gets to be a lot, since my school is huge and people are always collecting money for weddings, babies, retirements, etc... I am not comfortable with people feeling they need to contribute financially, as there are many teachers at my school I hardly ever see and am not close to.

Well, when I said I did not want a shower, everyone was totally understanding except for one teacher. She was extremely insistent. She informed me that I HAD to have a shower and that people would be mad if I didn''t. Once again, I told her I wished not to. Even my other co-workers tried to reason with her. Truly, I don''t think anyone else cared at all. I know I would not care if someone did not want a shower. As you can imagine, she bullied everyone until she got her way. I am not trying to be ungrateful, but I wish she would have respected my wishes. I have taught at the school for nine years, so the people I am close to already got me a card and a gift. BTW, we had a destination wedding, so none of my co-workers came to the wedding.

The shower is Thursday, and I am dreading it. It just irritates me so much that she had to make it all about what she wanted. Ughhh... people like that just grate on my nerves! Oh well, like I said, I just had to vent. DH thinks I''m being silly and says at least we''ll get some more gifts!

CJ2008

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Indy,

How annoying.

What could people possibly get mad about if you didn't want a shower? I guess better you getting mad than they?