shape
carat
color
clarity

Photomicrography..my sapphire pics!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Missrocks

Brilliant_Rock
So I got a couple requests to start of thread on photomicrography, after some inquiries asking about my new avatar. Basically photomicrography is as it sounds- magnified (10x to 40x) photos of gemstone inclusions, taken through the lens of a microscope. I recently starting practicing and I am learning it is much harder than it looks! I really have to give credit to all of those who have mastered the art- I have seen some amazing photos taken by another PS member, Vincent Pardieu, in some of recent articles and studies he has written.
36.gif

I had always had some interest in the subject, but got really hooked after I started studying the inclusions in my sapphire. My cert. never stated an origin and I really was curious. So after much comparing to some of the GRS photo atlas's, I believe it to be of Sri Lanken origin. Just an educated guess...
9.gif

And while I'm on the subject of my sapphire, I wanted to share some of its "internal characteristics".

While I did not take the photos of my sapphire I am about to post, I will also include a photo I did take of another loose gemstone. Since I am just beginning, I found it much easier to photograph loose gemstones, rather than mounted.
Enjoy!

These are all photos of my sapphire
1.gif
*Giving credit, where credit is due- All photos of my sapphire taken by Erik Carlson.

"Crown for My Princess"

crownformyprincess [1024x768].jpg

Missrocks

Brilliant_Rock
"Blue Rain"

bluerain [1024x768].jpg

Missrocks

Brilliant_Rock
"Earth From Space"

earthfromspace [1024x768].jpg

Missrocks

Brilliant_Rock
"The Skull I"

theskullI [1024x768].jpg

Missrocks

Brilliant_Rock
"The Skull II"

theskullII [1024x768].jpg

Missrocks

Brilliant_Rock