shape
carat
color
clarity

Am I nuts?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

LauraSLP07

Shiny_Rock
Hi Ladies in Waiting!

My name is Laura and I am new to the Pricescope forums.
1.gif

My SO, Mike, and I had been looking at engagement rings for almost 6 weeks now. Just yesterday, we finally purchased a 1.50 carat, F color, VS2 clarity loose princess cut diamond and a modified tiffany setting to go with it! I loved everything separate, but when it got set together, I could just tell that something was not right!
33.gif

I got the V-prong head on my setting because it protects the corners of the diamond, but am unhappy with how they turned out. They don''t all seem symmetrical (ex: one looks pointy, another looks rounded) and the whole head of the diamond seems crooked. Also, I think they set the diamond too low because you can''t even see the point at the bottom. My SO and I did not even realize any of these problems until we got home and examined the ring in natural daylight.

My question is, am I crazy to want the ring to be "perfect" because I know with custom setting they can''t get everything exactly even. I really just want to take the ring back and ask them to set it again because it looks crooked!

Here are the specs on the diamond: I fell in love with it from the moment I saw it!
9.gif

CW: 1.50
Color: F
Clarity: VS2
Total Depth: 71.4%
Table Size: 74%
Girdle: Medium to Thick
Cutlet: None
Polish: Very Good
Symmetry: Good
Fluor: None
Measurements: 6.58 x 6.39 x 4.56 mm

Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks so much!

luckystar112

Ideal_Rock
Laura, you posted in the ladies in waiting forum by mistake. You might want to message the admin and ask him to move this to rocky talky where people can assist you better.
1.gif

LauraSLP07

Shiny_Rock
Thanks luckystar...I''ll just repost it there! I''m still working my way around the forums!

Good luck to all the Ladies In Waiting!
2.gif

bee*