shape
carat
color
clarity

First Pearls?

naria

Shiny_Rock
I'm contemplating making my first pearl purchase. I have been trying to do a lot of research since it seems like there doesn't seem to be a unified industry standard which is something that pops up in markets where ignorance is money so I'm trying to be careful. I'd like some thoughts on what I've come up with so far.

Since I'm a grad student, I have a limited budget and was thinking of purchasing gem quality fresh waters. I'm only a couple of years out of college and short so I was thinking that the 7.5-8mm freshdamas might be appropriate. However, I am also plus sized and have long believed that accessories should match the stature and not just the status of the individual. Ergo I have become interested in the 8-9 presidential line as well (though these would be a bit of stretch budget wise but not an impossibility). I was wondering what people's thoughts were on the age/plus size ratio issue though I have ruled out 7mm and smaller since I want a strand that will carry me through conferences for the next 5-7 years.

I'm thinking of getting an 18" strand and eventually getting a shortner clasp. I think 18" is a nice length for most things, but feel a 16" looks best with my suits. However, do these clasps damage the pearls? I have read elsewhere in this forum and others that pearls scratch easily? Is this a concern with a clasp that directly touches the pearls?

If the clasps do scratch, would I be better off getting a 16" chocker and a bracelet that could be attached? I've read several posts about attaching necklaces and bracelets but am confused how this works. Do you need a mystery clasp? Or do you just attach the male and female ends of normal clasps? If the latter is the case, should the clasps be the ball clasps?