shape
carat
color
clarity

Can you tell me ANYTHING about this STUNNING necklace?

CasOliii

Rough_Rock
My grandmother gave me this ring when I graduated from high school. She said it had been given to her as well from a family member. My grandmother immigrated from Germany in the 80's and for sure had this during WW2. She was born in the early 30's so I'm thinking this Necklace must be from between 1900 and 1930 but this is just a guess. I've tried looking up the bug-like hallmark to no avail. The back has some kind of stamp and "585". Unsure of gem within the pendant part, it is however, surrounded by diamonds. Has anyone seen this or know who it was made by? Value?? Please note that the black flecks are NOT on the necklace, just areas on my phone that no longer have pixels.

img_8115.jpg

img_8117.jpg

ennui

Brilliant_Rock
585 is the hallmark for 14K gold (58.5% gold).

The center stone looks like an opal to me.

What is the mm size of the pearls? How long is the necklace?

EvangelineG

Brilliant_Rock
This looks like a piece that could be valuable and is worth getting properly appraised and repaired (hard to tell from the pics but it looks like it is missing a melee diamond on the clasp?).

ennui

Brilliant_Rock
EvangelineG|1433172135|3883693 said:
This looks like a piece that could be valuable and is worth getting properly appraised and repaired (hard to tell from the pics but it looks like it is missing a melee diamond on the clasp?).

I imagine the sentimental value may exceed the monetary value. Vintage jewelry can be hit or miss when it comes to value. There are some similar necklaces on ebay that are priced low.

I think this necklace should be worn and cherished. :angel:

NacreLover

Brilliant_Rock
Did you have the diamonds checked for authenticity and the opal also? That would be my first step.