shape
carat
color
clarity

What says "Thanksgiving" to you?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

NakedFinger

Brilliant_Rock
Any signature dishes? Things you cant live without that day (besides the Turkey! hehe), or dishes that have become a family tradition?

I am hosting my first thanksgiving this year, and I am trying to make sure I have covered all the "norms". So far I am doing Turkey, Gravy, Mashed Potatoes, broccoli casserole, candied yams, a corn souffle (or "corn pudding"?), stuffing, greenbean casserole, and cranberry sauce. Is that good? Am I forgetting anything?

I would love to see what everyone does every year, and any recipes would be welcomed! (especially the corn and candied yams, since I havent done them before!
3.gif
) Easy, fool-proof, bake ahead recipes would be great, as this is my first time and I dont want to try anything crazy. Do they make a "Cooking Thanksgiving Dinner for Dummies" book?
9.gif

Skippy123

Super_Ideal_Rock
What about Pumpkin Pie?
9.gif
My hubby loves loves loves pumpkin pie so that is something I can't forget
2.gif
3.gif

princesss

Ideal_Rock
Sausage rolls!!!!!!!!!

M''s family has a friend that makes the most amazing sausage rolls. I fill up on those before the turkey has a chance to touch the table!

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
Mashed potatoes

Gravy

Pumpkin Pie

Green bean casserole, although no one in the family makes it. This is what I remember from childhood.

Cranberry sauce, homemade.

Skippy123

Super_Ideal_Rock
This is from the Whole Foods Website and thought it was super yummy when we ate it last Thanksgiving
3.gif
http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/recipe.php?recipeId=1300
I am not a fan of candied yams so an alternative for something not as sweet?

Baked Pecan Yams
Serves 4 to 6