shape
carat
color
clarity

Show me your handwork art and hobbies

MMtwo

Ideal_Rock
Care to share your art, crafts, needlework homemade things?
What do you love doing to reach that personal Zen place? Pictures welcome.
I am a painter/dabbler.

amc80

Ideal_Rock
I don't really have the time anymore, but for a while I was really into crocheting beanies. I bought the pattern for the giraffe and taught myself how to crochet...then I made the rest without any pattern. I was making them for friends' baby showers, but I've since switched to baby blankets (which I can make in under 30 minutes). I am in no way a seamstress, btw, and the blankets only look good from a distance :)

beanies.jpg

amc80

Ideal_Rock
stepcutnut|1403196503|3696592 said:
amc-those are adorable!!!

Thanks! I've had a lot of people ask me to sell them, but I'm not good enough to where it would be a money maker.

MMtwo

Ideal_Rock
amc, thank you for posting and sharing - those are adorable! So fun to let the whimsey go and create with your hands.

amc80

Ideal_Rock
stepcutnut|1403196841|3696595 said:
How challenging would they be for a beginner?

Not at all! I was a 100% beginner when I made the giraffe. It's a matter of following the pattern instructions. I did have to google some of the lingo and I watched a few videos when I got stuck. But once you get the hang of making different shapes it is pretty easy.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
About 15 years ago I took three art classes at a local college, Beginning Drawing, Beginning Watercolor Painting, and Intermediate Watercolor Painting.
All five of these were done for those classes.
I think I've posted these before, but since you asked ...

Charcoal drawing of a photo in National Geographic.

Transparent Watercolor painting of our old wrought iron front gate, and the picture it was painted from.

Transparent Watercolor painting of another pic from National Geographic.

Transparent Watercolor painting of another pic from National Geographic.