shape
carat
color
clarity

Recommendations for jewelry pliers?

katharath

Ideal_Rock
I was wondering about this but wasn't sure where to ask - I would like to buy a pair of jewelry pliers to help me tighten up some prongs on some of my more inexpensive jewelry items. Is there anything specific or a certain type/brand I should look for? I honestly have no idea- but I have a few sterling pieces that have loose gems - they're not worth much, and it wouldn't matter if I messed them up. I thought it would be fun to try to tighten up the prongs on a couple of the pieces so that I could wear them again and wouldn't have to worry about gems falling out.

So...long story long (sorry!) - if anyone has any recs for something that would work for my complete beginner's hands, I would appreciate any help. I apologize if this seems like a stupid question...

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

katharath

Ideal_Rock
Thank you Kenny!

I am actually a complete and utter beginner. I might like to set some of my own studs in silver (I have some cheap but pretty garnet pairs, about 3-4 or so), and it would be fun to try setting them in simple prong settings. Not the snaptite settings but actual prongs that have to be folded over. I guess my ultimate goal would be able to accomplish something like this, just by practicing at home and watching YouTube videos. Does that sound nuts? That's really what I'd like jewelry pliers for - to try setting simple prong style earrings and to fix some loose prongs on pieces I already have.

I wouldn't try it on any of my expensive gems, for sure.

ksinger

Ideal_Rock
Premium
You need to put a call out to Circe and/or Lady Disdain. I'm sure either of them could give you solid info.

Lady_Disdain

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Sorry, I just saw this now. Let's see if I can help.

Are you planning on using the better pre notched settings or doing everything (notching, setting, trimming and finishing the prongs)?

By step, you will need: