shape
carat
color
clarity

Real Estate?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

sparkly_stars

Brilliant_Rock
I am looking for opinions on those who are real estate agents...
how do you like it, what do you feel? what kind of living does this bring you? how did you start off!

Opinions and anything is more then welcomed! (please and thank you :) !!!!!!!)

Michelle

Dee*Jay

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Sparkley, I am a real estate agent "on the side." After making my husband move 6 times in 8 years he said, "you''re killing me--go do this to someone else," and the agent we were working with on that particular move said I would make a great agent, so I tried it. I''ve been very fortunate and in 2 short (long!) years I''ve built up a large client base and produce more as a part time agent than most full time agents do.

For me it''s all about picking your clients. I work mostly from referrals, so I know pretty much what I''m getting in terms of people, although I do pick up some clients from open houses (but even though I choose carefully). Because of my limited time (after all, I do have a FULL time job!) I only work with buyers at this point, and I refer my listings to another agent. But, in a year or two when the people that I''ve sold to previously want to move I will have to decide how to handle that.

I do love it, probably because I don''t HAVE to do it. If I was depending on someone buying a property to make my own mortgage payment, well, maybe this wouldn''t so much fun. But with no pressure to produce, it''s the perfect passtime for me. And in terms of $, I made almost as much my first year in commission as my regular job pays me (and my regular job pays me pretty well), so again I was fortunate. (That''s were the $$$ came from for the 3 ct upgrade and the new kitchen, LOL!)