shape
carat
color
clarity

PSA - Finding Lost Pets

LAJennifer

Ideal_Rock
I recommend all of us pet owners bookmark the following site: http://www.k9sardog.com/missing.html

My cat, Electra, escaped over the weekend (DH accidentally left his bathroom window open after showering) and was missing for around 48 hours. This site was very helpful when I was planning my search.

Some tips from the site that I wouldn't have thought of - how to leave a scent trail, posting signs in English AND Spanish, contacting the microchip company and alerting them that she is missing. Also, not to give up and diligently search for 8 weeks.

I found her yesterday evening. Actually an intact, feral, male cat found her for me - he led me right to her after having witnessed me searching for her the previous day and night. I've been leaving out food and water for him for the last several months (named him Stewart). He usually runs from me, but not when he found my cat. I would imagine that she and I share a lot of the same scents - he was my own personal little bloodhound. I think he deserves something extra special - I'm so grateful.

She was hiding completely in a hedge bush about a half block away. I don't believe she would have come out on her own, as she has some bloody abrasions on her belly (I think she skinned herself trying to jump a wall - or perhaps trying to jump back into the window). She heard me talking to Stewart, as he and I were standing right in front of the bush - I was asking him why he wasn't running away from me. She started to meow softly and then the bush started to move. I bent down and she climbed right into my arms. She is now at the vet - and doing just fine. They wanted to keep her for the day (shave her belly and get a good look at the scrapes - also x-ray to check for internal damage). She didn't have a fever and we think she will be fine.