shape
carat
color
clarity

Less is more?

LALove

Brilliant_Rock
I've been saving to upgrade my engagement ring for about 3 years now.

Until very recently I thought I wanted the biggest baddest stone I could find within what I was willing to spend so probably up to 3 carats (though I swoon over 4+ carat diamonds, I just can't part with that much money for a piece of jewelry). At first I wanted a 3 carat colorless/near colorless H&A set in a HW style halo. Then, over this past year I realized I love old cuts way more and in lower colors no less! So I decided to keep saving and try to find the most awesome 3 carat OEC or antique cushion and have it set in either the HW halo style or the JbEG Sophie or something with a similar vintage-meets-modern look.

However, after seeing smaller but just as gorgeous stones/sets here and online I've come to realize that I really truly LOVE those as well! Like JbEG STUNNING 3 stone Astin with smaller OECs and this set I found while blog hopping (pic) which just makes my heart melt!!!

It'd be a wise move for me to spend less $ by getting a "dainty" yet gorgeous (to me) set as opposed to dropping $$$$$$$ on a 3 carat stone. I have (almost all) the money and it's allocated as "play" money but there are a lot more productive things I could use it for- invest it in DH's and my new business ventures, pay off our mtg faster and on and on. But this is money that I saved bit and piece over time for this specific purpose.

I'm kind of rambling but I guess my question to my fellow PSers is: do you think you could love and be happy with a smaller set that you found just stunning and not regret NOT getting a
jaw-dropping-notice-it-from-across-a-parking-lot stone/set when you had the chance?