shape
carat
color
clarity

Lap Top do you turn it off at night or just put it to sleep?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

scarleta

Brilliant_Rock
Hello: Just wondering about it.I am new to lap top world and I usually turn it off.Also do you put a password each time you log in or not? Just in case one lost it or left it behind somewhere with the password would give some protection? I have seen a finger print recognizable software, so only one person and with one finger gets recognized.It was on Dell computer.I have Mac and this feature is not available.Thanks for reading and responding..

jcrow

Ideal_Rock
i just close it and put my mac to sleep. i do however, restart or shut down occasionally. yes, i have type in a password each time i turn it on from a restart or start up - but not when i open it up from sleep.

poptart

Brilliant_Rock
Hey there,

I turn mine off at night just in case. Anything to prevent it from getting a virus. It''s also a waste of energy, although there is debate that leaving it on might save more energy than turning it off and then on again. Personal preference really. I also run my three scanning programs at least once a day since my last computer was completely obliterated by a trojan virus. As for adding a password, I personally don''t think it''s necessary unless there are other people in the household or if there is really private information that you are sure no one can get to. My computer actually has software that will track your computer if it is stolen. I use Lo Jack for Laptops and it is compatible with Windows XP, so if you have that on your Mac you could get it.

*M*

scarleta

Brilliant_Rock
tracking software,,that sounds good..never heard of it? I have mac and not windows ..

mrssalvo

Super_Ideal_Rock
I have a mac and shut it down almost every night. hubby is a big mac guy and says I should so I do it, don't really know why
9.gif