shape
carat
color
clarity

Kids sports - do parents have to be so intense?

LLJsmom

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am totally freaked out!! I am at my sons u12 soccer game and the parents are so aggressive and crazy!! I'm on PS trying to tune these crazies out and trying to enjoy the game. I am so turned off by some parents criticizing other children. Seriously, I get being excited
about your kids' sports, but do they have to be so mean?? How about sportsmanship? And letting the kids enjoy the game? :confused:

aviastar

Brilliant_Rock
Do they HAVE to be? Nope, nope, nope. Are they? Yup, yup, yup.

My husband is a high school coach; you wouldn't believe the interactions he has with some parents.

Smith1942

Ideal_Rock
Crazy parents are a major reason why I decided not to go into teaching.

vc10um

Ideal_Rock
I was a soccer referee for the local league when I was in high school. These were not travel teams where you had to try out...these were the "sign your kids up so they learn teamwork and get some exercise" kind of teams divvied up by school grade.

The only person I ever had to eject from any game in 6 seasons was a 3rd grader's father. :roll:

luv2sparkle

Ideal_Rock
Premium
What always surprises me is parents shouting at the refs. Do they really think that is going to do any good? It changes nothing and just makes them look like jerks. I know most of these people and they are nice off the field. They are not negative to the kids or the other team just at the refs for their calls.

My son's football team just made CIF. I am so excited. There will be a lot of shouting.

KaeKae

Ideal_Rock
Premium
My girls played rec soccer for a few years. The first couple was in a 'non-competitive' league, where the coaches actually acted as refs. I never saw any issues.